25YEARLEGEND: A Legend of Zelda Indie Game Composer Tribute Review

Front (Legend) [Lisa Coffman] tmb

Well usually I won’t post a review about an album with non-indie game music in it, but for this I’ll make an exception.

Here we have 25YEARLEGEND: A Legend of Zelda Indie Game Composer Tribute (long title, I know) which is a Legend of Zelda remix album by some of the biggest names in indie game music. On the roster we have *deep breath* Big Giant Circles, C418, DisasterpeaceDong, HyperDuck SoundWorksJeff BallJosh WhelchelJoshua MorseLaura ShigiharaMagnus Pålsson, Mattias Häggström Gerdt, Air & Sea, MisfitChris Kozilek Gryzor87CTPLRMatheus Manente and Rekcahdam. Most of these people need no introduction and I have made several posts about ,most the roster’s work’s already (Disasterpeace, C418, Dong, Josh Whelchel, Laura Shigihara, Mattis Häggström Gerdt). Also a shout out to Mecha @ HyperDuck SoundWorks for helping out with the site on occasion (:D) who is also on the roster as well.

The album started as smaller indie session but then blew up as big name IVG musicians started joining the ranks to do remixes for the album. The end result is a massive 18 track remix album completely dedicated to remixing Zelda tracks covering various games from Zelda 1 to Skyward Sword.

You have a variety of genres being used in the album, from dubstep to orchestrated, piano solos and even a volcaloid track (by Dong). The majority of the album (unsurprisingly) are from Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time, with the first 5 tracks being strictly Link to the Past tracks. I’m gonna take a wild guess and suggest that people really like the soundtracks for those games.

And as with every remix album with various artists, you’re gonna have your favorites from the album and you’ll have your tracks that you aren’t just sure how they got onto the album in the first place. Thankfully, the album has very few tracks that would be considered “stinkers” by the majority of listeners out there.

The album is free, so you have nothing to lose but time listening to some awesome remixes. But if you were to listen to only one song from the album, I’d make it Hoy, Small Fry!.

Visit the site here to pick up the album. Also, to save on bandwidth costs, please use the torrent file first and direct downloads as a last resort. You can get the torrent at the site or at OCRemix.

Also, it’d mean the world to the artists if you pimped the album on Reddit via this link topic.

Have any soundtrack suggests? Send me a tweet @TIG_Tunes with your suggestion. Or if you’re the composer, why not send me a review copy?

The Good:
A variety of great songs by some of the big names in indie video game music.
It’s free! But please use the torrent to save on their bandwidth costs.

The Bad:
Some head scratchers that make you wonder why they made it onto the album.

My Favorite Tracks: Labyrinth of Dance Floors, Hoy, Small Fry!, Skyward, Fushigina Forest, Thunderstruck

25YEARLEGEND: A Legend of Zelda Indie Game Composer Tribute:

Rating: ★★★½☆ 

01 Disasterpeace - Chamber of the Goddess [A Link to the Past] 03:03
02 Rekcahdam - Gimme My Sword! [Link's Awakening - A Link to the Past] 04:53
03 Laura Shigihara - Fushigina Forest [A Link to the Past] 02:49
04 Joshua Morse - Link's Epoch [A Link to the Past] 03:51
05 Jeff Ball - Labyrinth of Dance Floors [A Link to the Past] 07:02
06 HyperDuck SoundWorks - Hoy, Small Fry! [Wind Waker - Ocarina of Time] 04:06
07 Air & Sea - To Everything There Is a Temple of Seasons [Oracle of Seasons] 02:04
08 C418 - Skyward [Skyward Sword] 02:41
09 Big Giant Circles feat. Jeff Ball - Thunderstruck [Ocarina of Time - Legend of Zelda] 04:01
10 Josh Whelchel - Zelda's First Trip to the 'Village' [OOT - LTTP - LOZ] 03:27
11 MisfitChris - Village from Your Past [Ocarina of Time] 03:31
12 Mattias Haggstrom Gerdt - Hey, Listen [Ocarina of Time - Legend of Zelda] 03:26
13 Kozilek - Last Dance of the Giants [Majora's Mask] 05:00
14 Gryzor87 - Ilia's Adagio Meets Dark March [Twilight Princess - A Link to the Past] 04:31
15 Dong - Ballad of the Wind Fish (Kaze no Sakana Mix) [Link's Awakening] 04:28
16 CTPLR - Lon Lon Ranch (CTPLR Mix) [Ocarina of Time] 03:39
17 SoulEye - Link's Final Battle [Link's Adventure] 03:26
18 Matheus Manente - Zelda's Graceful Nightmare [OOT - MM - WW] 09:13

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>